Where did the title “Thigh Noon” come from?

Come on. You know you’ve been curious. My friend Bria Quinlan says it makes her giggle every time she sees it. So, how did I come up with such a title?

My first completed book languished – untitled – for years until the Golden Heart contest forced me to pick one. For my second book, I decided to give myself a break and title it first, before I did anything else. Linda Wisdom’s book Hex in High Heels had just been released. I was already familiar with her other titles, like Hex Appeal, and it was one of those things where I saw the display and went “Doh! That’s so clever. Why can’t I think of stuff like that?”

So I thought. And thought. The title had to be a play on something famous so everyone got it right away. I went to the library that day and High Noon, the original movie with Gary Cooper, was on display right by the door. In forty-five seconds, my mind twisted it into Thigh Noon, determined the book should be about a female entrepreneur who had invented a Suzanne Somers-style thigh shaper product and the hero had an ace in the hole – her patent. Then it took another week or so to figure out they must have a history, perhaps even were in a relationship at some point in the past for our hero to have enough information to get the patent, so voila, the characters used to be married.

Now it’s a proper showdown. Instant conflict. Two dogs with one bone as Debra Dixon instructs in her GMC book.

Thigh Noon includes a lot of Old West imagery, which fits the book’s setting in North Texas. I named my hero Jesse James Hennessey, who is the CEO of a manufacturing company called Outlaw. Yes, I laid it on thick. I love the resulting story of two people whose marriage ended badly but are so not done with each other.

Read the first two chapters of Thigh Noon on the New Voices site and vote for me so I can get one step closer to seeing this thing in print!

PS My husband told me it was a stupid title. I countered with the fact that publishers always change titles and it was intended to be striking so it would be memorable. Did it work? J

Leave a Reply

